‘Recovery’ sells out at Pick N Mix 2012!

What a fantastic weekend of new theatre to be part of! And how fantastic that ‘Recovery’ TOTALLY SOLD OUT! There was a great buzz about it, which leads nicely into its month-long residency around the corner at Arts & Disability Forum‘s Gallery space where it will be from 14 June (launch night 6-8pm) until 11 July (Gallery opening hours: Tues-Fri, 11am-3pm; free admission)

(Behold, biosensory-artist-in-the-role-of-nurse, Jiann who was just amazing!)

Image of nurseAnd some feedback from the 50+ people that came to the show:

“Stunning experience…brilliantly realised.”

“Brilliant. I think every medical/nursing student should listen to something like this so they can really understand what goes on with patients.”

“Unlike anything else I’ve experienced or gone to.”

“I became aware of how many people suffer from brain disease and yet I think of it as rare.”

“Like getting inside, right inside, somebody else’s head.”

“Recovery was a really moving an affecting experience. Great work.”

“My palms were sweating and my heart pumping!”

“I want to know more on her road to recovery.”

“Honest and direct. Hope this show travels!”

“Was that all REAL?”

“A privileged insight into the thoughts and sounds of a ‘very sick girl’.”

“I really liked that this was an individual experience, one person at a time in the hospital room setting.”

“Immersive, troubling, follow-able but challenging, beautifully constructed…”

“Quite relaxing in a strange sort of way…”

“A roller coaster ride of emotions.”

“So well done and I wish you the very best with the show. Curious to know more.”

“Powerful, moving, emotional, informative, funny!”

“It was an intense experience that really immerses you into another world. I loved the fact your senses were heightened further by the fact your eyes are covered and you become totally encompassed in the story. My body definitely responded to what I was hearing.”

“I really liked that I was asked about whether I had experienced anyone close to me having been affected by stroke, etc. It instantly connected me with the piece. Being in the hospital bed and having the nurse really put me in the story instantly.”

“This is a stellar piece of work.”

“Wow…just WOW…”

So what’s next for Recovery? Funding applications.

Pick N Mix was a fantastic opportunity to test out the technology and the dramatic conventions we established in the studio for the first quarter of the story, the ‘being disassembled’ part (courtesy of the ADAI grant). The remaining three-quarters of the story, the ‘reassembled, slightly askew’ part, has been mapped out with the team so we are ready to get back into the studio to explore and produce it.

Another area we’re excited about that we haven’t explored yet with the technology is the paralysis section of my time in the hospital– how can sound and its vibrations be used to re-create my experience of being paralyzed down the left side of my body during those first few weeks post-surgery? We have some ideas….!

ADF logo - no shadow arts council - lotteryAnCE logo 2009

Leave a Reply

