Brain.

One of my few first memories after my first neurosurgery was looking around the hospital ward at the other 5 patients and thinking, “This would make a crazy Fringe show…” Where else but in a hospital would you be so vulnerable, and sleeping in a room with complete strangers?

Grainne says I never asked why I was there. Oddly.

I always knew I would write about the whole neuroescapade, but I wasn’t sure about how, exactly, until I crossed paths again with Anna Newell, whose collaborative, multi-disciplinary approach I’ve always admired. I told her I was considering writing about this whole brain/nearly-dying/recovering-with-an-acquired-brain-injury thing as a radio play; I was also considering a movement piece because I was paralyzed for 3 weeks down my left side after the first surgery.

When we met up, she told me about this amazing binaural microphone technology which makes sound 3-D and Paul Stapleton, a sonic artist at the Sonic Arts Research Centre at Queens University.

(Put on your headphones to listen to some examples of binaural recordings.)

Anna also got choreographer, Stevie Prickett, involved. I think Stevie’s got the hardest task: choreographing for a quasi-radio play…

I’ve received an Arts & Disability Award Ireland and support from the Joint Sectoral Dramaturgy Fund (administered by Tinderbox Theatre Company) to develop the project.

It’s going to be one. crazy. trip.

I’m thrilled!

Leave a Reply

